6 June, 2009 Columbia, SC Street Fighter 4 Singles and Teams Results

 tourney-june-6-2009

First of all, I want to thank all of the players who came out this weekend. The turnout was even better than I expected. There were 5 players from Augusta who showed up in force and they really showed their stuff.  Three of the top 5 positions in singles were Augusta players and the winning team in the 2v2 was the Augusta team.  Battle Walrus and Druseph took the number 1 and 2 spots in an epic Grand Finals which made me really wish I had found some way to have a digital camera present to record. It wasn’t complete dominance, though, as some of the top South Carolina players brought their top game as well.  SonGohanX from Myrtle Beach (playing Blanka) and Dr.Hat from Columbia (playing Vega) really put on a show.  Personally, I think Dr. Hat’s Vega is the best I’ve ever seen in my over 1,000 matches of SF4 online.  As a whole, the competition level for an event of this size was really good and the matches that I witnessed as the brackets got more and more towards finals got more and more exciting.

Also thanks to everybody for putting up with any of my errors as a tourney organizer, as this was the first one I have run personally.  However, I think it ran far better than I could have hoped and that’s all thanks to the players.  You guys really made things easy by, most importantly, being on time and secondly staying close so that matches can transition from one to another quickly.  It was an amazing experience for me personally. However, I learned some things I will improve upon for next time. We need fans to keep air moving and we would have used more seating and tables are two big ones. However, overall I think it went OK and I hope that everybody had a great time and will look forward to a new tourney in Columbia as soon as we can find a venue.

Leave comments! Brag about your wins, plot revenge against those who beat you, tell us about your experience and throw out ideas for the next one. They are all good.

So here are the results in total for the event:

Singles:

1: Battle Walrus (GA)
2: Druseph (GA)
3: SonGohanX
4: John (GA)
5: Dr. Hat
5: LH621
7: Icege
7: U-Volt
9: AwardTour
9: kidd (GA)
9: Avatar2
9: Hi-Tekk
13: Bloy
13: Ramz
13: Adam
13: SimpleKiss
17: cooscoos (GA)
17: Love
17: cr0wley
17: Bushido X

Teams:

1: Team Wonder Pets (Druseph + Battle Walrus)
2: Downstairs Mixup (Icege + cr0wley)
3: Team BucketMoney (SonGohanX + U-Volt)
4: Korea (Byron + Love)
5: counterpick (AwardTour + Dr. Hat)

I’m going to make a permanent page with the results and a link to the bracket image for singles, in case you want to find out who beat who. It will be a page link on the right-hand side of this blog website. Again, leave comments! Brag about your wins, plot revenge against those who beat you, tell us about your experience and throw out ideas for the next one. They are all good.

3 Responses to 6 June, 2009 Columbia, SC Street Fighter 4 Singles and Teams Results

  1. Dwaine Simmons says:

    Had a blast yesterday. Wish I would have got better than 9th. I guess i need to hit the dojo. see yall at the next sc sf4 tourney.

    p.s. I really sick of losing to dr.hat in every tourney.

  2. rodneydesjarlais says:

    I know what you mean. As I said, he personally knocked me out of the last tourney (knocked me out of Winners bracket and took me out completely in Losers Finals). Really, though, after playing him and watching him play again in this tourney, I do not feel bad losing to him.

  3. Rahjon (Hi-Tekk) says:

    Jeez, I had a great time but I really gotta step it up when it comes to playin in front of people. This is only my second time EVER playing in front of people and beside someone and it’s completely different than online (talk about pressure)! We definitely gotta get something going on to were we can play each other in person outside of the tournaments.

Leave a Reply

